Author Topic: Kern County judge rules against State of California in case against Tastries Bakery  (Read 7238 times)

Offline Suppressed

Kern County judge rules against State of California in case against Tastries Bakery
by Eyewitness News staff      Monday, February 5th 2018
http://bakersfieldnow.com/news/local/kern-county-judge-rules-against-same-sex-couple-suing-tastries-bakery

[...]

The ruling stated California could not force the Bakery's owner, Cathy Miller, to make cakes that would go against her beliefs.

The court document also stated that Miller provided the couple with an alternative means to obtain a cake by going to another establishment. The document shows Miller had entered into an agreement with a competitor to refer same-sex couples to them instead.

The ruling stops an injunction that would have prevented the bakery from continuing to deny service during the case.

[...]
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline Suppressed

@Jazzhead @Oceander @roamer_1 @driftdiver  Apologies to those I didn't ping.  Just a few names I recall being interested in the topic.
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

Offline WingNot

• Resident TBR Curmudgeon
In a statement made by the Bakery's owner, Miller says she is shocked by how fast the decision was made and feels "blessed" to have the support of her community.