Author Topic: 3rd Confederate flag rises along North Carolina interstates  (Read 10263 times)

Offline Suppressed

Re: 3rd Confederate flag rises along North Carolina interstates
« Reply #100 on: February 01, 2018, 03:27:50 pm »
Most won't even recognize the flag of the Confederate States of America.  It isn't the battle flag everyone recognizes.

And that Stars and Bars was only one of three flags of the Confederate States of America.  It changed mid-1863, IIRC.

I love that I can have War Between the States art on my work computer with that flag on it, as nobody will flip out like they would with ANV flag.

« Last Edit: February 01, 2018, 03:28:08 pm by Suppressed »
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline Suppressed

« Reply #101 on: February 01, 2018, 03:30:37 pm »
It has become something else - and so, for better or worse, has the stars and bars.

99 Americans out of 100 wouldn't even recognize the stars and bars.  When people see it, they often think it's a American Revolutionary War flag.
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

Offline austingirl

• Cruz 2016- a Constitutional Conservative at last!
« Reply #102 on: February 01, 2018, 03:36:54 pm »
@austingirl

A concept with beautiful precedent...

"When, in the course of human events, it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bonds which have connected them with another . . ."
@Suppressed