Author Topic: Trump intends to impose tariffs via executive order  (Read 7026 times)

Offline Suppressed

Re: Trump intends to impose tariffs via executive order
« Reply #25 on: December 23, 2016, 02:21:15 pm »
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline kevindavis007

« Reply #26 on: December 23, 2016, 02:26:13 pm »
A lot of jobs in steel have been heavily automated for a long time anyway. A friend of mine was pretty severely burned some 30 years ago when he got in the way of a self driving forklift carrying freshly rolled steel bars.

Also it silly to think that we are going to back the type of employment in factories like from post WWII until the early 60's is in denial in what type of world we live in. 

Those days are gone and all of the tariffs in the world is not going to help much.
Join The Reagan Caucus: https://reagancaucus.org/

Offline IsailedawayfromFR

« Reply #27 on: December 23, 2016, 02:27:51 pm »
Jobs already lost such as manufacturing) are gone for good and they aren't coming back.

So all the stuff we have seen in the revitalization of the oil and gas industry via drilling over the past 10 years were not new jobs?

You are sadly mistaken.

There are of course avenues to get jobs back to Americans.

Making blanket statements like that are not truthful and very misleading.
No punishment, in my opinion, is too great, for the man who can build his greatness upon his country's ruin~  George Washington

Offline Weird Tolkienish Figure

• Technical
« Reply #28 on: December 23, 2016, 02:32:46 pm »
So all the stuff we have seen in the revitalization of the oil and gas industry via drilling over the past 10 years were not new jobs?