Author Topic: Donald Trump is Already Walking Back His Supreme Court List  (Read 6938 times)

Offline Suppressed

Re: Donald Trump is Already Walking Back His Supreme Court List
« Reply #75 on: May 19, 2016, 08:08:52 pm »
he wants to sell the land back to the states and make education local control.

Since states haven't wanted the land when it was offered to them, has he said how that will be addressed?  I applaud putting the burden of land maintenance onto the states that surround it, but how does that work out legally if they don't want it?

Plus, what about the ranchers?  The feds give a HUGE subsidy to ranchers by offering them grazing land at something like 1/23 the market rate.  I'd hate that the price of beef would skyrocket, but it would be worth it if we cut the federal budget/taxes by a corresponding amount...the rancher subsidy is wrong.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2016, 08:10:30 pm by Suppressed »
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline Mechanicos

« Reply #76 on: May 19, 2016, 08:33:37 pm »
Since states haven't wanted the land when it was offered to them, has he said how that will be addressed?  I applaud putting the burden of land maintenance onto the states that surround it, but how does that work out legally if they don't want it?

My understanding is the feds are not supposed to own any land inside a state that is not related to necessary buildings and ports other then DC. Plus, it was for most of the west forced on the States.